Macculloch Hall Historical Museum’s collection is a reflection of founder W. Parsons Todd’s interests. Deeply influenced by the Colonial Revival Movement, beginning in the 1950s Mr. Todd interpreted Macculloch Hall as nineteenth-century gentleman’s estate. He collected fine, rare and unusual examples of porcelain, carpets, textiles, furniture, glass, and silver, as well as oil paintings and works on paper that spoke to his personal interests in American history, the American presidency, life on the sea and the generations of the Macculloch-Miller family who occupied the house from 1810 until his purchase of it in 1949.
The nine decorated rooms open to the public showcase a selection of Mr. Todd’s collection. Though not true period rooms because the furnishings and appointments date from the eighteenth through the late nineteenth centuries, the rooms evoke a sense of splendor and refinement of an imagined past while maintaining the integrity of the Federal-style mansion built in three successive campaigns in 1810, 1812 and 1819.